The Year in Books

As we count down the last hours of the old year and look forward to ringing in the new, I always like to look back on the books I read and loved over the past 365 days.  Here, in no particular order, is what I read in 2011.

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Sweet Valley Confidential by Francine Pascal
Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
Confessions of a Prairie Bitch by Alison Arngrim
Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff
Just Kids by Patti Smith
Apollo’s Angels: A History of Ballet by Jennifer Hormans
Swamplandia! by Karen Russell
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Unbearable Lightness by Portia DeRossi
Some Girls: My Life in a Harem by Jillian Lauren
Bossypants by Tina Fey
Pilate’s Wife by Antionette May
Willoughby’s Return by Jane Odiwe
Mermaid by Carolyn Turgeon
Penelope’s Daughter by Laruel Corona
Queen of the Dead by Stacy Kade
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kahling
The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

I also like to make a list of all the books I have yet to read, but look forward to devouring over the next 365 days.  Here’s what’s sitting on my bedside table for 2012:

Legend by Marie Lu
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
American Rose: The Life and Times of Gypsy Rose Lee by Karen Abbott
Falling for Hamlet by Michelle Ray
The Queen’s Bastard by Robin Maxwell
You Know Where to Find Me by Rachel Cohn
The Courts of Love: The Story of Eleanor of Aquitaine by Jean Plaidy
Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen

I wish each and every one of you nothing but happiness and peace and prosperity and plenty of time to read in the new year!!

5 thoughts on “The Year in Books

  1. Anne says:

    Ooo, I was actually thinking of doing a books-to-read in 2012 post myself (as there are, naturally) stacks and stacks of them. I think I’ll tackle that tomorrow. 🙂 Also, how did you like Swamplandia? It’s one I’ve picked up and carried around a bookstore several times before putting it down for later.

  2. Jaime says:

    Ah! Some of those (BossyPants, Paris Wife) I totally have to read in the next year! Loved the end books of the Hunger Games though. I couldn’t get to the ending of Swamplandia! that book just made me sad.

    You should join GoodReads so you can track what you read! I’m not just saying this b/c I want more GoodReads friends 😉

    1. krieli1 says:

      Bossypants, definitely! It was hilarious and honest on an awesome scale. I’ve loaned it to several people;)

      I think I did have a Goodreads account at one point. Will have to resurrect it!

  3. Paul says:

    Wow! I am impressed. I tried and failed to finish one book last year. I am running out of bookmarks to show where I have halted reading the story. Hey-ho!

Leave a Reply

