What’s Next?

Well, here we are, thirteen days into 2012.  It’s hard to judge a year by less than two weeks, so I remain optimistic about my goals and resolutions.

You can’t break something you haven’t started yet, right?

Still, I have taken some steps forward.  This Sunday will be the first 2012 meeting of LARA, the LA chapter of the Romance Writers of America.  Afterwards, the critique group to which I belong will be gathering together, and I have submitted the first forty pages of my book for their consideration.

To say that I’m nervous would be an understatement, but I am totally prepared for any and all comments/criticisms.  Except for two dear friends who read about a page each, no one has read anything from this manuscript.  In all honesty, this might be the last time anyone does read this book.

I just don’t know if it’s good enough.  And, as if I needed a sign that this is true, I had an idea for a new book that I’m dying to start writing.  It’s a very different kind of book…different genre, different target audience, different style…but it’s speaking to me right now.

If my critique group feels that my NaNoWriMo manuscript is worth salvaging, I will have to split my time between revising one book and working on this second book while the idea is still fresh and hot in my mind.  Because I don’t want to be one of those writers who spends fifteen years perfecting one piece of work without ever writing something else.

This might sound very logical and neat and tidy on the page, but in my head, it feels more like this:

2 thoughts on “What’s Next?

  1. yhosby says:

    Good luck with your writing goals!!! It’s definitely a good idea to work on your other story while revising the first one. If its a different genre, you could always use a pen name.

    I’m at the same stage that you are in. I just completed a story, and now I’m in the critique stage (4 chapters in already). I have two crit partners (a male mystery writer and a female romance writer), then my crit group is online too (mostly fantasy writers). Talk about me getting opinions from varying degrees LOL!!

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    1. krieli1 says:

      Thank you! And congrats on finishing your book;) It’s no small accomplishment, but you don’t realize just how big it is until you type that final “the end.”

      Good luck with your wonderfully diverse critique group; I’m crossing my fingers about my own;)

      Thanks again!

      Kristen

Leave a Reply

