Oh, Make Me Over

The description of this blog is “balancing life and writing and everything in between,” and this post will definitely count as the ‘in between,’ as it has absolutely nothing to do with writing.

(Actually, that’s not entirely true.  In doing research for my latest project, I stumbled across some great makeup tutorial videos, and that led to me buying some new products and updating my makeup kit.  So, there’s your writing tie-in, tenuous though it is.)

Yes, this is a post about makeup.  Men, feel free to pass.

I confess to being really bad when it comes to doing my own hair, but I’m slightly better at applying makeup.  Or at least I’m getting better.  Hell, I’m learning.

Makeup used to be so simple.  A little powder, mascara and lip gloss was all I really needed.  Now, as time creeps up on me, I find myself buying age-defying under-eye concealer and eyelid primer potion.  It takes a small arsenal of beautiful weapons to keep me up to scratch, and I’m constantly finding new products and discovering new tricks thanks to teenage girls on the internet.  Yes, if you have a makeup question, there is some sixteen year old girl with a camera who has recorded an answer to it and slapped the video on Youtube.

Do I, as a 32 year old woman, feel silly taking makeup tips from girls who were in diapers when I started high school?  No, not really.  They know their shit, pardon my French.  No one pulled me aside in school and taught me how to contour my cheekbones or apply fake eyelashes (something I’ve still only done once on Halloween), so now I have to seek out help from those who are “in the know.”

After a couple of years, I have found the products that work best for me.  I have very pale skin (seriously, I could use white-out as foundation), brown-gold eyes and dark eyebrows, so all of these products are geared towards that particular color scheme.

Pretty Soldiers
Pretty Soldiers

1)  Oil of Olay All-Day UV Moisturizer  (Because skin cancer would suck.)

2)  NYC Smooth Skin Perfecting Primer

3)  Garnier Nutritioniste Skin Renew Anti-Dark Circle Roller

4)  CoverGirl True Blend Mineral Foundation in Classic Ivory

5)  CoverGirl True Blend Mineral Pressed Powder in Translucent Fair

6)  MAC Sheertone Blush in Gingerly

7)  ELF Eyelid Primer (When I want some shimmer, I use CoverGirl Intense ShadowBlast Primer Shadow in Beige.)

8)  MAC Eyeshadows (Espresso, Brulee, Antiqued)

9)  Cinema Secrets Ultimate Eyeliner in Brown (Unless you live in LA, you can only find this online at their website.)

10)  CoverGirl LashBlast 24 HR in Black Brown (Best I’ve found to avoid clumping.)

11)  CoverGirl Brow and Eyemakers Pencil (Absolutely fabulous for eyebrow shading, although a dark brown eyeshadow can work, too.)

12) Italia Deluxe Ultra Fine Lip Liner in Natural (Found this for one dollar in LA’s Fashion District; would have paid more.)

13)  Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

14)  Wet and Wild Lipstick in Birthday Suit

Wow, that sounds like a lot.  But nothing on that list is over twelve bucks, even the MAC products.  Makeup doesn’t have to be crazy expensive, yet another thing I’ve learned from the teenagers.  My one indulgence is my MAC foundation brush which could set you back thirty dollars if you didn’t get the great deal I did.  It’s ridiculously soft and blends like a dream.  Other than that, I use Ecotools brushes because they’re environmentally friendly and very effective.

At the end of the day, I take all that makeup off with regular makeup remover wipes (generic drugstore brand) and Dermalogica Precleanse, an amazing cleansing oil that does run a bit expensive, but will last a very long time.  I finish with an aloe gel that cools and moisturizes.

My next makeup hurdle is bronzers.  I have my eye on Physician’s Formula Bronze Booster, but I’m still shaky on this whole contouring thing.  Back to the internet!!

4 thoughts on “Oh, Make Me Over

    1. krieli1 says:

      Aww, thank you, but I like all of this stuff. It helps me feel confident. Plus it’s just fun. Well, eyeliner isn’t all that fun, but it’s worth the effort:)

Leave a Reply

