Catching Up

When did it get to be September?  I feel like I blinked in August and when I opened my eyes again, it was 100 days until Christmas.

So, what have I been doing in that time?  Well, an awful lot of stuff, let me tell you!  First of all, Paul and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary with a trip to the Peak District where we visited some of the locations used in one of my favorite movies of all time, The Princess Bride.  Our goal was to recreate the “as you wish” kiss scene in the very same valley in which it was filmed, but unfortunately it is now home to a group of sheep and they really couldn’t care less if anyone wants to lie down on the ground and take a picture…when they gotta go, they just go and they gotta go everywhere, apparently.  So we compromised.

10616395_10204309065943634_6419081116789923801_n

We spent the rest of the weekend trekking through caves, eating amazing Mexican food in the middle of England and searching for a Coke bottle with my name on it (no luck).

10647117_10204309070783755_489975953161636077_n

Ever since then, it’s pretty much been business as usual.  I have thrown myself into the job market and have spent many hours trying to get the British government to give me a National Insurance Number.  Bureaucracy, as it turns out, is the same in every country.  I have a job interview lined up for this coming week, so cross your fingers for me, please!

My one year “arrival” anniversary is coming up fast which means I’ve been doing a lot of contemplating and comparing just how different my life is now than it was a year ago.  Sometimes it feels like I just got here, but most of the time, it feels like home.  I’m sure I’ll be covering all of this in more detail in November, when I really have officially been in the UK for a year.

So, what else can I talk about?  The recent Scottish referendum?  Eh, I don’t like to get too political.  (Pause for laughter from those who know me.)  Basically, I feel it went the right way and I’m pretty much talked-out about it, although it was very cool to have a front seat to the whole debate.

Honestly, I’d almost rather talk about the garden spider that has spun a massive web outside our office window and catches flies on daily basis.  The reason I haven’t done much writing lately is that I can’t stop staring at this episode of Wild Kingdom taking place right in my eye line.

tumblr_mcbdydxWMK1rtc9of

Yeah, my brain is a dry well and no amount of pumping it seems to be producing any results.  Sorry.  You know, when I logged on to write this post, I realized that I have reached 272 followers.  Now, that might not seem like much in this social media-driven world, but it’s a really big deal to me.  Who are you awesome 272?  Why so quiet?  I’d love to hear about you and to hear what you think about me.  Well, my blog anyway.  What works, what doesn’t, and whether you feel that you are, as Russell says, entertained?

Let me know!  In the meantime, go treat yourself to a pumpkin spice latte, ’cause it is somehow fall!

 

3 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. Karen Przychodniecz says:

    Hi Kristen, I always enjoy reading your posts. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. I look forward to the next one and hope it will be soon. Happy Fall! ❤

Leave a Reply

